What are You ComPASSIONate about?

It is safe to say that I am PASSIONATE about shoes. I love them. I have been known to label mine in clear plastic boxes and stack them on top of each other like a trendy shoe apartment complex. I have more than I could possibly wear in a week, maybe even two, and I know each shoe by name. It’s a first-world passion, but I am passionate about footwear nonetheless.

I have other passions as well. I love to sing, travel, dance, and create. Growing up I invested a lot of time in each of these passions. I had a pretty good handle on what PASSION was and how it fuels our soul. Or so I thought.

Like many moms, I wasn’t sure what to expect when I gave birth. But it wasn’t long before I fell completely in love with my son. It wasn’t until the very first time I held my own child in my arms that I realized the difference between PASSION and ComPASSION.

Suddenly, I felt compassion. Yes, compassion for this helpless baby who looked to me to sustain his very life. I would gladly do anything for him, and it was as though I could move mountains to do whatever he needed me to do. Just like The Grinch Who Stole Christmas, I could feel my heart grow ten times larger within my chest, exploding with a love and compassion that I had never known. That’s when I realized the difference between passion and compassion. My passions had been about me. Compassion is about everything BUT me.

It is that same love that drives the ministry of Compassion International, a highly reputable ministry that seeks to eliminate child poverty in the poorest parts of the world. In the name of Jesus, this fiscally responsible organization works through local churches in impoverished areas to demonstrate compassion to needy children.

Unfortunately, the world we live in has made a skeptic out of me. I don’t want to hand money to just anyone based on their word. So, I personally investigated the ministry of Compassion by visiting their headquarters in Colorado Springs. I was so impressed by their commitment to children and good financial stewardship that I couldn’t wait to be a part of their global work in whatever way they could use me.

So it is with great humility that I announce my partnership with Compassion International as one of their featured artists. Together, we can work to bring food, clothing, medical care, education, and the hope of Christ to children who would otherwise have nothing.  As a mom, I know how it feels to want the very best for my children. Won’t you join me in sponsoring a child who looks to you to be compassionate to them just like you are to your own children?

How about you? Do you have a PASSION for others? Are you ready to let compassion change your life by changing the life of a child? Click on the picture to the right of this blog to find out more information about sponsoring a child through Compassion International.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What are You ComPASSIONate about?

  1. Carol Heath says:

    Love this! Tell me more about your partnership!

Laugh out loud with us today! What thoughts are resonating with your funny bone?

